Compare:

  1. The running boy is Hasby. ( The boy who is running is Hasby)
    The running shoes are very expensive.(= The shoes for running are very expensive)
  1. The walking man wants to meet you.
    The old man needs a walking stick.

A. Active Participle

Examples: 1. Having opened the drawer, I take the gun.

= After I have opened the drawer, I take the gun.

2. Walking along the garden, I met my wife.

When/While I was walking along the garden, I met my wife.
3. Being sick, she doesn’t go to school.

= Because she is sick, she doesn’t go to school.
4. Being an outstanding student, he has got a scholarship.

= As an outstanding student, he has got a scholarship.
5. Trying hard to win beauty contest, she neglected all her school assignment.

= Since she tried hard to win beauty contest, she neglected  ……
6. It is dangerous for the people living nearby a river.

= It is dangerous for the people who lives nearby a river.
7. One of the person presenting a paper at the seminar was Mr. X

= One of the person who presented a paper at he seminar was ……
8. I meet the man smiling.

=I meet the man who smiling

=I meet the smiling man
9. After the verb of sensation: see, watch, monitor, observe, notice, listen,

hear, smell, touch, taste, catch, feel.

E.g.: We saw a man trying to get on our roof.
10. Turning to the right, you will find the post office.

= If you turn to the right, you will find the post office.
B. Passive Participle

Examples: 1.  Having been beaten by me, Eric became a polite man.

= After Eric had been beaten by me, he become a polite man.

2.  We promised to give you the photo taken by him last week.

= We promised to give you the photo that was taken by him.

  1. Surrounded by the mountain, the city has a cool climate.

= Because the city is surrounded by the mountain, the city has….

  1. Her broken heart would make her disappointed.

= Her heart which was broken would make her disappointed.

  1. On my way home, I saw a dog being beaten by a boy.

On my way home, I saw a dog which was being beaten by a boy.

THE PRESENT and PAST PARTICIPLES as ADJECTIVES

Examples:         This is tiring work. (the work is tiring to us)
He is a tired boy. (the boy himself is tired)
The story is interesting. (the story interests someone)
John is interested. (something interests John)

About englishcyber4u

1 want to have useful life for people around me..and 1 want to write till 1 die..

Leave a Reply

