Can / could

May / might

Must / had to                            + infinitive verb

Shall / should

Will / would

  1. 1. Will
  1. Menyatakan akan ( be going to / future time )

I will go to the party tonight

We will leave for Sydney tomorrow

  1. 2. Shall
  1. Menyetakan kehendak atau tekat

I shall do whatever you think best

  1. Menyatakan suatu janji

You shall receive your Diploma in June

  1. 3. Can
  1. Menyatakan kemampuan / ability [ = be able to ]

Kathleen can speak Spanish, but she cannot speak Russian.

  1. Meyatakan kemungkinan / possibility

It can snow in April

  1. Menyatakan ijin / permission

Can I borrow your dictionary

  1. 4. May
  1. Mnyatakan ijin / permission

May I sit here ?

  1. Menyatakan kemungkinan / possibility

It may rain, according to the weather report.

  1. 5. Must
    1. Menyatakan kebutuhan / necessary

We must eat nutrious  food

  1. Menyatakan kesimpulan

The door is locked, he must not be at home.

I failed the examination, you must think I am stupid

  1. Menyatakan suatu keharusan yang kuat

Man must eat to live

The time is up, we must go

  1. Menyatakan suatu larangan / prohibition

You mustn’t smoke in class

You mustn’t walk on the grass.

  1. 6. Should = ought to (seharusnya)
    1. Menyatakan suatu keharusan / kewajiban (obligation)

He should study more

  1. Menyatakan suatu pendapat / saran (suggestion)

Rany say they should go

  1. Menyatakan suatu harapan

He took dancing lesson for years. He should be an excellent dancer.

  1. 7. Could
    1. Menyatakan kemampuan untuk melakukan tindakan di waktu lampau

When I was sixteen, I could dance all night.

  1. Bentuk halus atau hormat  dalam request / command

Could I borrow your book?

Could you tell me the way to the station?

  1. 8. Might
    1. Menyatakan kemampuan dalam bentuk “Reported speech” kalimat berita dalam bentuk past tense.

The newspaper said that it might rain tomorrow.

  1. Menyatakan kemungkinan present tapi si pemcbaca lebih tidak yakin dibanding  “may”

It might sure in October, you can never be sure

  1. Menyatakan permintaan halus dan lebih formal dibanding “ may”

Might I be excused early?

  1. 9. Would
    1. Kalimat yang klausa utamanya dalam bentuk Past Tense

I knew that he would meet me

  1. Menyatakan kebiasaan di masa lalu ( habitual or customary action in the past)

When I was young, my grandmother would tell me stories.

I would sit beside him and listen for hours

  1. Menyatakan permohonan halus / sopan dianding “will”

Would you like to join us for tea tomorrow?

Will ………….. future time ……………… (be going to)

Can ………….. ability …………………… (be able to)

May………….. permission ………………. (be permitted that ….)

Might ……….. possibility ……………….. ( it is possible that ….)

Should ……… obligation ……………….. (ought to)

Desirability

Must ………… inference ………………… ( I conclude that ……)

Conclusion

Probability

Necessity ………………… ( have to )

About englishcyber4u

1 want to have useful life for people around me..and 1 want to write till 1 die..

Leave a Reply

